three weeks into new year


i’ve been wanting to blog for a while now because things have happening day after day after day and being the lazy blogger that i am, i thought i’d just wait until things have happened than to write about them excitedly. ha

i literally started off the year attending a convention organized by my church on impacting the marketplace. i’ve never had so much fun attending a convention as much as this because it was something that i could really relate to! i love serving in church, and sometimes i feel like it can be a burden when i cannot at least attend the sunday services due to work outside. i have submitted myself to a life full of craziness of little sleep, messed up schedules, working with all kinds of people and indulging in the worst diet possible way – whatever you can find whenever however.

i mean, i have no complaints whatsoever because i love that i’m given the opportunity to be able to do something that i love! often people come up to me asking me if i wanted to continue studying to get at least a diploma, or settle down to a proper job (because it’s not suitable for a girl to travel back late at night)…. and of course i do! if i could do everything all at once, i wouldn’t mind at all! but what if deep down you know that now, right here is the right time and place for you to be at? how could you say no to that by reasoning with me saying “ah but that’s what they all say until they’ve regretted 10 years later wishing they could go back studying while they were younger.”

easily, if anyone knew me at all, i’ve always thought that i’ve been catching up really slowly and whatever age that i’m in now, i wish i could have all of my knowledge now at least 2 years ago.

speaking of age…. I’M FREAKING TURNING TWENTY ONE YEARS OLD. CAN I NOT?

anyways, the convention gave me one particular insight (of all the things that i learned) – which is to never forget where you come from, your foundations in life and who you really are among the people you work for and with. doesn’t matter what you do or where you are, when you’re done, leave with an impression that you were one of the best people they’ve hired, or even better, one of the greatest addition to the “family”. there is no greater reward than that. and i think that, that is very important!

aaaaaannnnnddddd (of course) i’ve been going back to ICOM about 3 times now, there are a list of things that i find funny and touching at the same time every time i’m there. like when:

  • everyone (the students) who saw me for the first time and gave me the warmest hug ever! ❤
  • ex-colleagues asking how and what i’ve been doing, adding the fact that i have “the glow” ever since i left! HAHAHAHHAA
  • Eugene Yeo tells me that for the first week he’s back in ICOM, when he stops at the second floor, the first automatic thing he’d do is to make a left turn towards my (former) office and peek through the window, wondering what i’m up to. (aww)
  • Mr Frank asks for a favour to reset his IP address and Entourage. (i need to pass on my magic because i’m the only one that can make things work on his computer somehow LOL!)
  • Vivian asks for the third floor forms. (only during the first week because i forgot to print out a few before i left ._.)
  • Brian uses some of my rule of thumb for the Media team (OMG I’M SO PROUD)
if you wanna be in the media team, you gotta know these rules!
if you wanna be in the media team, you gotta know these rules!
seriously the cutest thing ever. i have chosen the perfect successor LOL
seriously the cutest thing ever. i have chosen the perfect successor LOL

btw, i DON’T beat people up….in case you’re wondering! xD

i’ve been lucky enough to be paired up with different people for different projects within the course of (exactly) one month since i resigned from ICOM. half the times the magic words are “i have resigned from ICOM and currently unemployed”. other times, it’s the people that you’ve met in the past that hook you up with their contacts. the latter is what makes me feel so, so, so very blessed!

extra bits and pieces, in no particular order:

  • being at home means doing most of the chores…AND COOKING!! ❤ ❤ ❤ making magic in the kitchen :’D
  • working on 3 covers that i hope to finish by the end of this month. (i’m just too critical with myself)
  • i am doing some of the bee’s events, assisting mokhtar of iseekmusic studios.
  • i’m currently in love with making green juices!! so far i’ve incorporated spinach and celery with my apples & berries.
  • celebrated bal’s birthday on new year’s eve, making 3 different types of salads to go along with the BBQ stuff.
  • mah friend cliff is using my songs for his commercial studio production project, of which i’m really excited about!!
  • i flew to Kuching and back on my own for the first time and it was exciting!!
  • apparently i turn to arts and craft whenever i’m pissed about something. i made a makeup organizer out of cereal boxes and magazine pages in 3 hours! O.o
  • KATE MCGILL’S ALBUM FINALLY ARRIVED. LIKE. AFTER THREE MONTHS. i thought i was never gonna get it so i bought another one. ._.
  • i’ve recently been obsessed with salmon sushis. like, i could just eat 20 of that and not feel guilty at all. ._.
  • everything that i do now reflects the way mr v was training me up while in college. i’ve been using the term “micromanaging” a lot in my head just to continue reminding myself that no matter how much i love lending an extra pair of hands, i should know my boundaries. of course, at the same time, making sure other people don’t end up creeping into my work due to my laziness. i also wrote an email of a friendly advise on how to produce a show, and the most logical way of doing anything at all is by planning out backwards. mr v used to say “think backwards” back when i was trying to do my assignments and projects. oh how much i’ve missed his insights on life. that is exactly how you impact the marketplace, folks.

…..JANUARY PHOTOS!

last night at Raise The Bar. i wasn’t really diggin’ it. I’M TOO SHORT TO EVEN SEE THE STAGE
the day i flew to Kuching, otw to the airport. CAN’T YOU SEE HOW EXCITED I WAS?!
the side dishes from Bal’s party.
i know girls especially would only rave about shorter haircuts after awhile but i’m seriously loving the change!! although my bangs are slowly getting longer lol
MY COPY OF KATE MCGILL’S MINI ALBUM
my new makeup organizer.
my new makeup organizer.
my old makeup organizer.

that’s it for jan’s post! i’m gonna blog about my Kuching trip soon because  i learned a lot while i was there and i really wanna remember them! 😀

ox

Author: melinya

one day, i wanna wake up, pack my stuff and just go on a random trip.

Leave a Reply

