it’s TIME – part 3


Wow where did time go? It’s already the end of May and my last post was April 8th. After that, a whole month of April was practically all about tribute! This semester, the ICOM Celebration Series paid a tribute to Classic rock. Here’s what the ICS page look like for Classic Rock.

Screen Shot 2013-05-30 at 11.37.09 AM

Overall, the concert was a success! If you head over to my CV page you’ll get to know a bit about my roles for this semester’s tribute. I’m telling you, it was one hella week of bump in, rehearsals & bump out but the best week in my entire life. I don’t think I’ve ever fallen in love more and more in the production side of the concert (or a concert in general). Even though I wasn’t exactly a part of the production team (other than being the System Support), I’ve learned a lot when it comes striving for excellence. A lot of hardwork, but rewarding at the same time!

After a month of excitement, all of us went back to our normal lives and we actually (not exaggerating!) suffered from tribute withdrawals. It was the worst one so far lol. We couldn’t get the songs out of our heads! The band members wouldn’t stop playing the songs whenever they get a chance to jam in the Ensemble Rooms. Some of them even played the songs for their PI (Private Instruction) Exams! In the end, we paid our last tribute by playing Another Brick In The Wall for the Final Friday Performance. After that, we all got together for a mega tribute after-party, family style, hosted by le band manager Zam, with food prepared by Kim, Faviq, Joel & Zam.

While the rest of the students rushed for the assignments and project, I asked myself one day: where do I go from here? In fact, what on earth am I doing here when my friends are all out there in the studios or mixing for live gigs and such??? For a period of time I was struggling with questions like these because I used to hate admin work and ‘suddenly’ I’m here at ICOM doing admin work and not out there doing something in line with Audio Production.

When it comes to weighing my options, I’m not very good at properly mapping out my plans without getting a second opinion. Usually the first person I’d go to was the boyfriend. Sadly, we’re no longer together. I guess the both of us just need a break from each other. He said he wants to get his old self back, and I thought, well, I’ve been trying to get myself back too and it hasn’t been working out well.

So I spoke to a lot of people and decided that maybe I should go back to studying. I missed out on the Passport to Fame finals last Saturday (JALAPENOS WON!!!!!) to do a bit of research on colleges and maybe even get my mind and heart agreed on one course that is somewhat in line with Audio Production. After an hour of research, I took a break and ask my mom her thoughts about me going back to school. She said ‘okay’. I asked my dad the same question too and he was okay with the idea too.

And then I asked them what they think of mass comm…..

After that we spent another hour going through unis and private colleges and I’ve decided on TAR College. Just from the website itself, I learn that they have a major in Broadcast Communications for their Diploma in Mass Comm programme. Here are some screenshots for you to refer. Just from the first glance, I almost wanted to apply straight away! lol

Screen Shot 2013-05-30 at 12.23.59 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-30 at 12.28.05 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-30 at 1.28.05 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-30 at 12.30.29 PM

Right now the current plan is to visit TARC tomorrow and get to know the programme better. At the moment, this is the best option so far; programme and fees wise. I might even able to advance to degree if I’m doing very well! Heck, if I could get a perfect 4.0 in my GPA, I could also apply for their merit scholarship!

Screen Shot 2013-05-30 at 10.43.33 AM

Screen Shot 2013-05-30 at 10.44.44 AM

That’s all for now. If I have time tomorrow, I would update on my visit to TARC. Excited!!

Leave a Reply

